Welcome to France !

Map of France & largest cities

Largest cities

  • Paris : 2 254 262 inhabitants
  • Marseille : 855 393 inhabitants
  • Lyon : 500 715 inhabitants
  • Toulouse : 458 298 inhabitants
  • Nice : 342 295 inhabitants
  • Nantes : 292 718 inhabitants
  • Strasbourg : 275 718 inhabitants
  • Bordeaux : 243 626 inhabitants
  • Lille : 231 491 inhabitants

Facts and figures

Identity card:

  • Surface area: 633,186 sq. km.
  • Population 66.6 million
  • Capital city: Paris
  • Official language: French
  • Currency: Euro (EUR)
  • System of government: Republic
  • Founding member of the European Union
  • Permanent Member of the UN Security Council, NATO, OECD, OSCE, G8 and G20
  • Time zone: UTC/GMT + 1 hour in winter – UTC/GMT + 2 hours in summer
  • National day: July 14

Government system

The current President of the French Republic (Head of State) is Emmanuel MACRON, elected on May 14, 2017 and from the political party “La République en Marche” which he founded himself in 2016.

His Prime Minister (Head of Government), Mr. Edouard PHILIPPE, was appointed on May 15, 2017.

In general, the President of the Republic is elected by direct universal suffrage for 5 years.

System of Government: Prime Minister, Ministers and Ministers of State.

Led by the Prime Minister, the French government designs and implements the government policy of the nation.

The Parliament draws up and passes laws. It is made up of the National Assembly (577 deputies elected for five years by direct election), and the Senate (343 senators elected for six years by indirect election).

Regional and local authorities

France is composed of several types of local authorities: the region, the department, the municipality.

Councilors are elected for six years by direct election. They elect the President of the Regional Council, the President of the Departmental Council, and the local Mayor.

Municipalities can regroup to form intermunicipal entities.

There are five overseas local authorities: Saint Pierre and Miquelon, Wallis and Futuna, French Polynesia, Saint Barthélemy, and Saint-Martin.

Voting right

In France, the legal voting age is 18 years old. Foreign Nationals from European Union member countries can vote during municipal and European elections.


The climate in mainland France is temperate with mild temperatures. Open to the Atlantic Ocean to the west, the country benefits from prevailing sea winds, and therefore from moderately cold winters, mild temperature summers, and frequent rainfall.

Since the French territory is wide, the climate is not consistent. Regional variations occur due to the latitude and the differences in distance from the sea or mountainous areas. Temperature variations are less noticeable on the French coast than in the rest of the country, but the rainfall is higher.

Telephone calling codes

  • + 33 (Mainland France)
  • + 590 (Guadeloupe, Saint Martin, and Saint Barthélemy)
  • + 594 (French Guiana)
  • + 596 (Martinique)
  • + 262 (Réunion, Mayotte))
  • + 508 (Saint Pierre and Miquelon)
  • + 681 (Wallis and Futuna)
  • + 687 (New Caledonia)
  • + 689 (French Polynesia)